NY, NY

New York 149

Someone I know is always coming to New York City. Friends, family, friends of friends, friends of family (you get the drift) are always here for business, pleasure or a mix of both — and the question is always the same. What should we do while we’re in town? From my group this really means where should we eat? Seriously, that’s such a loaded question.

Well, if you really want to know I’d send you to Masa but my guess is you don’t want to spend $600 per person — and that’s just for the food. Asking where to go to dinner in New York is kind of like asking where to shop for fabulous couture in Paris. There are simply hundreds and hundreds of to-die-for do’s. It just depends on your taste, location and price point.

One of my clients is coming to NYC this weekend and he asked me for suggestions. I put together this list and figured I mights as well share it. These ideas aren’t necessarily the local tucked away spots but they’re definitely recommended — and at the very least you’ll experience some of the best the city has to offer. You’ll also eliminate all chance of ending up at Hard Rock Cafe in Times Square.

John’s on Bleeker Street for pizza. There’s two things on the menu , pizza and salad, and they’ve perfected it being that’s all they’ve been doing since 1929.

Da Silvano in Greenwich Village for authentic Italian. The people watching and celeb spotting are as good as the food. Last time I was there so was Anna Wintour. Bar Pitti next door is also a good Italian option.

Pastis or Balthazar for brunch. They’re NYC staples but they’re staples for a reason. I can’t say no to the pommes frites at Pastis no matter how hard I try. Another good brunch option is Norma’s at Le Parker Meridien. You don’t even need to look at the menu. Just order the burger.

Little Owl in the west village for dinner. Simple and delicious Mediterranean and American in the heart of the village.  The daily specials are always to die for.

Marea for dinner. The authentic coastal Italian cuisine will make you forget you’re on Central Park South.  Highlighted as one of the best new restaurants in NYC this year and just received 3 and a half stars from the New York Times.

– If Masa isn’t an option, go to Sushi Yasuda for the 2nd best sushi in Manhattan. You’ll be happy you did.

– Don’t leave NYC without a stop at Milk & Cookies. These homemade cookies will make you care less about the calories. I had the Oatmeal Scotchie several months ago and I’ll never look at another cookie the same again.

– And I have to mention STK in the Meatpacking District. It’s our favorite – the food, cocktails and scene can’t be beat. Check out the private rooms for an event. I threw my hubby a surprise birthday party in one of the rooms last year and it was a huge hit.

XOXO Travel Girl

4 Comments

Filed under Celebrity, Deals, Fashion & Style, Travel, Trends

4 responses to “NY, NY

  1. These are great suggestions!

  2. Who knows ya?

    Another good sushi option – Blue Ribbon (the one by Columbus Circle). Great bartender and great drinks!

  3. I’ve been in NY my entire life and haven’t been to any of these places. They are now on my todo list 🙂
    You’re so right. There are sooo many options in NY, a recommendation is hard to do without some kind of criteria to help narrow it down. One of my favorite spots is Max Brenner, simply because I LOVE chocolate. Every time someone visits me I make this a priority.

Leave a Reply

