Belize Please.

My Casita at Matachica

A year ago this week I was lounging in a hammock on the beaches of Belize, reading, sunning and swimming. This year I’m in frigid New York City, braving the holiday crowds and the wintry mix of weather which so far has included rain, snow and below freezing temperatures. Furry Hat – Check. Bikini – Uncheck.

I’m always asked about warm weather destinations that are fabulous and inexpensive, which is similar to asking for high-fashion shoes that are comfortable. The combo can be difficult to find. I found it at Matachica in Ambergris Caye, Belize — home of the second largest Barrier Reef in the world.

I can’t help but wish I was at Matachica today – lying in the hammock of my private beachfront casita steps from the sand, swimming in the tranquil turquoise water and eating grilled lobster at the beachfront restaurant. Don’t be mistaken, Matachica is not luxurious, but its filled with chic, stylish touches such as Frette linens and individually decorated casitas with original Central American art. No TVs, phones or clocks force you to operate on island time and you can guarantee you’ll return feeling better than when you arrived.

2010 rates start at $245 per night although I booked via Hotels.com for less. The best way to get there is via Miami to Belize City, where you hop on a puddle jumper to Ambergris Caye.

I’m dreaming of the sun…

XOXO Travel Girl

1 Comment

Filed under Deals, Fashion & Style, Travel

One response to “Belize Please.

  1. well written post keep it up 🙂 i will bookmark ur site if i want to design site like yours i wonder how long it will take me

Leave a Reply

