$20-A-Day Vacay

Happy New Year! Hopefully by now, most of you are settling back into your work routine and hitting the gym desperatly trying to reverse the holiday over-indulgence. And if you’re anything like me, planning your 2010 vacay(s).

I’d mentioned in an earlier post that my constant travel talk drives my husband crazy. He’s incredibly sweet and says otherwise, but I know better. He’d rather see where the year takes us and go somewhere if, and when, it makes sense.  I, on the other hand, obsessively search airfare deals, new hotspots and haute hotels. I’m a planner. It’s in my DNA. I can’t help it.

So, I’ve decided to take my vacay fate into my own hands. I’ve concocted a plan to take my husband on a vacation this spring. I’m planning it and I’m paying for it.

In order to pay for the vacay, I’m going to start saving $20 a day for the next 4 months. This will give me approximately $2400 by the end of April. Below is a list of the frivolous faux pauxs that I’ve decided to cut of my life ASAP so I can save my $20 per day.

  1. Green Tea from Starbucks or other neighborhood coffee shops (approx. $5 per day)
  2. Weekly blowout which is $45 (approx. $6 per day)
  3. My cab habit (approx. $10 per day)

Now I just need to decide where to go within my budget. Any ideas?

XOXO Travel Girl

11 Comments

Filed under Deals, Travel

11 responses to “$20-A-Day Vacay

  1. Denise Papa

    Sarah – love the idea! I, myself, started a “special spending” account right after Christmas…. This is where I’m tucking away money for, well, something special 🙂 I like the $20/day idea – I’ll have to adopt this into my budget routine! xoxo

  2. This is a fun blog post, Sarah! Excellent idea. What about Cape Town? Or…I know you went to Santorini and Mykonos, but what about Folegandros, Greece?

  3. This is a great idea and a commendable effort. Those are great choices of things that you can actually live without. Good luck with your saving. Can’t wait to see where you decide to go.

    • glamglobetrotter

      Thanks! Let me know if you have any ideas. Somewhere WARM is must!

      • A group of friends and I are actually planning a trip to the Bahamas celebrate a grad school graduation and wedding. That’s a warm destination 🙂

        I would also recommend Tobago, simply because I hold it very close to my heart. Relaxing, or “liming” as it’s called there is THE thing to do there. You’d love it.

      • glamglobetrotter

        Thanks so much for the Tobago rec — sounds like a great idea! Ay hotel recommendations?

  4. dana mathews

    Sarah, you just inspired me! planning a trip to asia this summer and wasnt sure how to pay for it, but thank you so much for the tip.

    i think you should go to asia too! 🙂

    • glamglobetrotter

      Thanks, Dana! Where are you going in Asia? I’m thinking white sandy beaches in April and maybe a more long-haul trip this summer.

  5. Pingback: Destination: Aruba (via TripAdvisor) « The Glam Globetrotter

  6. Pingback: Funding Your Travel Fun « Guts.Glam.Grace.

Leave a Reply

