Are you a Lost Girl? I am.

Have you ever had the urge to leave your job, your day-to-day life and all of your materials possessions behind to travel the world for a year? I have. More than once. It was more than a fleeting thought during my mid-twenties, in the midst of my “quarter-life crisis,” and it still lingers in my mind today. However, it would be much more difficult to pick up and go now that I’m in my early 30s and have a husband and a business. My dream today is to be on “The Amazing Race.” I suppose that would be second best to grabbing my husband and embarking on a year-long adventure around the globe.

Given my desire to travel far and wide, you can imagine how excited I was to read The Lost Girls, a new, first-person account of three 20-something ladies who leave their boyfriends, jobs and lives in NYC for a four continent, year-long adventure. The girls are fun, and they’re real, taking us into the pressures they feel about work, getting married and having kids before a certain age.

Like in their “real” lives, their trials an tribulations on the road are exciting and entertaining, from hiking Machu Picchu, to experiencing an Ashram in India, and everything in between. They take us inside their trip and their lives, periodically talking about the life they left behind, including boyfriends, jobs and apartments.

I was sent an advance copy of the book but you can pre-order it for $24.99. I highly recommend it. And, hey, that’s a lot less expensive than a plane ticket around the world.

6 Comments

Filed under Celebrity, Fashion & Style, Travel, Trends

6 responses to “Are you a Lost Girl? I am.

  1. The description of this book sounds like our plans about 7 years ago….alas, they were only plans. Still the book sounds like a great read for the beach this summer!

    • glamglobetrotter

      We did have many, many plans (and it was fun planning, nonetheless!) It’s a great beach read for the summer. I read it in Aruba and then outlined for Eric all of the new places I now want to go! 🙂

      • Sarah,

        I’m so thrilled that you enjoyed the book–thanks for the incredible review!! If you really do want to be on The Amazing Race, I have a friend (via the web) who’s been on it already. Drop me a line if you want to get in touch with her!

        Amanda

  2. glamglobetrotter

    Hi Amanda — thanks for the note. I loved the book and have been telling everyone it’s a must-read. I’m so impressed with what you ladies have done and will continue to follow your success.

    And yes, it would be great to connect with your friend from The Amazing Race!

    Thanks again,
    Sarah

  3. This definitely sounds like something I’d enjoy. I’m looking for a book to take with me on my next trip. Hopefully, I can get this one in time. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

